Operate on Existing Masks

Change a Block Mask

You can change an existing mask by reopening the Mask Editor and using the same techniques that you used to create the mask:

  1. Select the masked block.

  2. Select Mask > Edit Mask.

The Mask Editor reopens, showing the existing mask definition. Change the mask as needed. After you change a mask, be sure to save the model before closing it, or the changes will be lost.

View Mask Parameters

To display a mask dialog box, double-click the block. Alternatively, right-click the block and select Mask > Mask Parameters.

To display the block dialog box that double-clicking would display if no mask existed, right-click the masked block and select Block Parameters (BlockType).

Look Under Block Mask

To see the block diagram under a masked Subsystem block, built-in block, or the model referenced by a masked model block, right-click the block and select Mask > Look Under Mask.

Remove and Cache Mask

To remove a mask from a block and cache it for possible restoration later:

  1. Right-click the block.

  2. Select Mask > Edit Mask.

    The Mask Editor opens and displays the existing mask, for example:

  3. Click Unmask in the lower left corner of the Mask Editor.

The Mask Editor removes the mask from the block, saves the mask in a cache for possible restoration, then closes. The editor caches masks separately for each block, so removing a mask from one block has no effect on a mask cached for any other block. Closing the Mask Editor has no effect on cached masks.

When you have removed and cached a mask, you can later restore it, as described in Restore Cached Mask, or delete it, as described in Permanently Delete Mask. The removed cached mask has no further effect unless you restore it.

Restore Cached Mask

As long as a model remains open, you can restore a mask that you removed as described in Remove and Cache Mask.

  1. Right-click the block.

  2. Select Mask > Create Mask.

    The Mask Editor reopens, showing the cached masked definition.

  3. Modify the definition if needed, using the techniques in Mask a Block

  4. Click Apply or OK to restore the mask, including any changes that you made.

If you made any changes, be sure to save the model before closing it, or the changes will be lost.

Permanently Delete Mask

To delete a mask permanently, first remove it as described in Remove and Cache Mask, then save and close the model. You do not need to close the model immediately after removing a mask that you intend to delete. The removed mask remains in the cache and has no further effect unless you restore it.

Was this topic helpful?