Discover MakerZone

MATLAB and Simulink resources for Arduino, LEGO, and Raspberry Pi

Learn more

Discover what MATLAB® can do for your career.

Opportunities for recent engineering grads.

Apply Today

Thread Subject:
kurtosis?

Subject: kurtosis?

From: Adam Marshall

Date: 3 Apr, 2007 10:10:05

Message: 1 of 7

Hi all,

I'm using Agilent VEE Pro v7.5, and attempting to use the kurtosis
function in a MATLAB script. However, it is saying that the function
cannot be found. Has anyone had any success with kurtosis in MATLAB,
or is it likely due to the version of MATLAB included with VEE?

Cheers,
Adam

Subject: kurtosis?

From: John D'Errico

Date: 3 Apr, 2007 10:21:26

Message: 2 of 7

Adam Marshall wrote:
>
>
> Hi all,
>
> I'm using Agilent VEE Pro v7.5, and attempting to use the kurtosis
> function in a MATLAB script. However, it is saying that the
> function
> cannot be found. Has anyone had any success with kurtosis in
> MATLAB,
> or is it likely due to the version of MATLAB included with VEE?
>
> Cheers,
> Adam
  

I'd be quite surprised that Matlab is
bundled with any computer or OS.

Kurtotis is indeed available in my
release of matlab: R2006b.

John

Subject: kurtosis?

From: Adam Marshall

Date: 3 Apr, 2007 10:45:26

Message: 3 of 7

John D'Errico wrote:

> I'd be quite surprised that Matlab is
> bundled with any computer or OS.
>
> Kurtotis is indeed available in my
> release of matlab: R2006b.
>
> John
  

There's a MATLAB script engine that is installed when installing
Agilent VEE.

I think I'm just unlucky here and kurtosis doesn't appear in this
version of MATLAB (appears to be 12.1?) :(

Subject: kurtosis?

From: Steven Lord

Date: 3 Apr, 2007 10:49:38

Message: 4 of 7


"John D'Errico" <woodchips@rochester.rr.com> wrote in message
news:ef5333b.0@webcrossing.raydaftYaTP...
> Adam Marshall wrote:
>>
>>
>> Hi all,
>>
>> I'm using Agilent VEE Pro v7.5, and attempting to use the kurtosis
>> function in a MATLAB script. However, it is saying that the
>> function
>> cannot be found. Has anyone had any success with kurtosis in
>> MATLAB,
>> or is it likely due to the version of MATLAB included with VEE?
>>
>> Cheers,
>> Adam
>
>
> I'd be quite surprised that Matlab is
> bundled with any computer or OS.

I'm guessing Adam is using this Third-Party Products & Services:

http://www.mathworks.com/products/connections/product_main.html?prod_id=282&prod_name=Agilent%20VEE%20Pro

> Kurtotis is indeed available in my
> release of matlab: R2006b.

Adam, KURTOSIS is a function from the Statistics Toolbox; the description on
the page above doesn't say anything about this toolbox being included.

--
Steve Lord
slord@mathworks.com

Subject: kurtosis?

From: Adam Marshall

Date: 3 Apr, 2007 11:03:43

Message: 5 of 7

Thanks Steve,
 Looks like I just have access to the Signal Processing Toolbox,
cheers :)
Adam

Subject: kurtosis?

From: NZTideMan

Date: 3 Apr, 2007 18:51:52

Message: 6 of 7

On Apr 4, 3:03 am, "Adam Marshall" <N0031...@ntu.nospam.ac.uk> wrote:
> Thanks Steve,
> Looks like I just have access to the Signal Processing Toolbox,
> cheers :)
> Adam

It takes 3 lines to calculate:
y=randn(10000,1);
yp=detrend(y,0);
sd=std(y);
Ku=mean((yp/sd).^4) - 3;

Subject: kurtosis?

From: nethaji anandhavalli

Date: 7 Apr, 2010 10:36:05

Message: 7 of 7

hi,
why do we need to find the kurtosis of a signal? is there any significance? pls guide me

Tags for this Thread

What are tags?

A tag is like a keyword or category label associated with each thread. Tags make it easier for you to find threads of interest.

Anyone can tag a thread. Tags are public and visible to everyone.

Contact us