Discover MakerZone

MATLAB and Simulink resources for Arduino, LEGO, and Raspberry Pi

Learn more

Discover what MATLAB® can do for your career.

Opportunities for recent engineering grads.

Apply Today

Thread Subject:
Figure timing out

Subject: Figure timing out

From: Kelly Kearney

Date: 7 Sep, 2007 18:52:38

Message: 1 of 7

I just encountered the following error, which appears
consistently in a script of mine when trying to plot the
last in a series of 7 figures:


??? Error using ==> figure
UIJ_AreThereWindowShowsPending - timeout waiting for window
to show up.

Error in ==> plotecosimresults at 9
    figure('Units', 'normalized', 'Position', [.1 .1 .8 .8]);;

Error in ==> test at 31
plotecosimresults(Out, Ewein.name);


I'm running R2007a on MacOS X on an Intel Mac. I found one
other thread in the newsgroup mentioning the same error,
also on an intel mac and with the same version of Matlab
(unfortunately with no replies). Anyone know what might be
causing this?

Subject: Figure timing out

From: JL

Date: 26 Nov, 2007 06:18:14

Message: 2 of 7

I am having the same problem when I have more than 100
figures. My machine is a Core 2 Duo with 2G memory. Any help?

Thanks,

Jean

"Kelly Kearney" <kakearney@nospamgmail.com> wrote in message
<fbs6lm$cib$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> I just encountered the following error, which appears
> consistently in a script of mine when trying to plot the
> last in a series of 7 figures:
>
>
> ??? Error using ==> figure
> UIJ_AreThereWindowShowsPending - timeout waiting for window
> to show up.
>
> Error in ==> plotecosimresults at 9
> figure('Units', 'normalized', 'Position', [.1 .1 .8 .8]);;
>
> Error in ==> test at 31
> plotecosimresults(Out, Ewein.name);
>
>
> I'm running R2007a on MacOS X on an Intel Mac. I found one
> other thread in the newsgroup mentioning the same error,
> also on an intel mac and with the same version of Matlab
> (unfortunately with no replies). Anyone know what might be
> causing this?

Subject: Figure timing out

From: emregul ersan

Date: 1 Nov, 2008 20:14:02

Message: 3 of 7

I am having the same problem ... :S
i dont know what is a mistake..:(
have any idea?


??? Error using ==> figure
UIJ_AreThereWindowShowsPending - timeout waiting for window to show up

Error in ==> thresh_tool at 42
h_fig = figure;

Error in ==> educambot>gor_isle_Callback at 283
level=thresh_tool(I);

Error in ==> gui_mainfcn at 96
        feval(varargin{:});

Error in ==> educambot at 42
    gui_mainfcn(gui_State, varargin{:});

Error in ==>
guidemfile>@(hObject,eventdata)educambot('gor_isle_Callback',hObject,eventdata,guidata(hObject))


??? Error using ==> figure
Error while evaluating uicontrol Callback

Subject: Figure timing out

From: John

Date: 11 Jan, 2010 22:28:02

Message: 4 of 7

I have had the same problem. The reason is because you have too many windows (figures) and Java doesn't have enough space. The solution is to use clf before
each figure with a pause(n), where n is floating point number of seconds after
the figure.


"JL " <a_fake@hotmail.com> wrote in message <fidof6$1fn$1@ginger.mathworks.com>...
> I am having the same problem when I have more than 100
> figures. My machine is a Core 2 Duo with 2G memory. Any help?
>
> Thanks,
>
> Jean
>
> "Kelly Kearney" <kakearney@nospamgmail.com> wrote in message
> <fbs6lm$cib$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> > I just encountered the following error, which appears
> > consistently in a script of mine when trying to plot the
> > last in a series of 7 figures:
> >
> >
> > ??? Error using ==> figure
> > UIJ_AreThereWindowShowsPending - timeout waiting for window
> > to show up.
> >
> > Error in ==> plotecosimresults at 9
> > figure('Units', 'normalized', 'Position', [.1 .1 .8 .8]);;
> >
> > Error in ==> test at 31
> > plotecosimresults(Out, Ewein.name);
> >
> >
> > I'm running R2007a on MacOS X on an Intel Mac. I found one
> > other thread in the newsgroup mentioning the same error,
> > also on an intel mac and with the same version of Matlab
> > (unfortunately with no replies). Anyone know what might be
> > causing this?
>

Subject: Figure timing out

From: Jeff

Date: 6 Mar, 2010 08:29:05

Message: 5 of 7

This problem can also be caused by trying to debug a program which uses the WindowButtonMotionFcn feature of figures. For example see the draw_lines.m program which comes with Matlab's help system (find it on the line function reference page, in the section titled "Drawing with mouse motion": http://tinyurl.com/ye262co)

If you put a break point in the function called by the motion handler (in this case function wbmcb(src,event)), you will really screw up the graphics engine.

The only way I was able to clear the problem was by closing all figures, then issuing the following in the command window:

close all
close all hidden

"John " <junk@csd.uwo.ca> wrote in message <hig8li$5v6$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> I have had the same problem. The reason is because you have too many windows (figures) and Java doesn't have enough space. The solution is to use clf before
> each figure with a pause(n), where n is floating point number of seconds after
> the figure.
>
>
> "JL " <a_fake@hotmail.com> wrote in message <fidof6$1fn$1@ginger.mathworks.com>...
> > I am having the same problem when I have more than 100
> > figures. My machine is a Core 2 Duo with 2G memory. Any help?
> >
> > Thanks,
> >
> > Jean
> >
> > "Kelly Kearney" <kakearney@nospamgmail.com> wrote in message
> > <fbs6lm$cib$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> > > I just encountered the following error, which appears
> > > consistently in a script of mine when trying to plot the
> > > last in a series of 7 figures:
> > >
> > >
> > > ??? Error using ==> figure
> > > UIJ_AreThereWindowShowsPending - timeout waiting for window
> > > to show up.
> > >
> > > Error in ==> plotecosimresults at 9
> > > figure('Units', 'normalized', 'Position', [.1 .1 .8 .8]);;
> > >
> > > Error in ==> test at 31
> > > plotecosimresults(Out, Ewein.name);
> > >
> > >
> > > I'm running R2007a on MacOS X on an Intel Mac. I found one
> > > other thread in the newsgroup mentioning the same error,
> > > also on an intel mac and with the same version of Matlab
> > > (unfortunately with no replies). Anyone know what might be
> > > causing this?
> >

Subject: Figure timing out

From: Nico Wienders

Date: 28 Mar, 2011 15:53:03

Message: 6 of 7

"Kelly Kearney" wrote in message <fbs6lm$cib$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> I just encountered the following error, which appears
> consistently in a script of mine when trying to plot the
> last in a series of 7 figures:
>


I get the same error when i don't even any figure open.


??? Error using ==> figure
Error using ==> figure
Error using ==> figure
UIJ_AreThereWindowShowsPending - timeout waiting for window
to show up

Subject: Figure timing out

From: Jerry Gregoire

Date: 24 Jan, 2012 19:44:09

Message: 7 of 7

"Kelly Kearney" wrote in message <fbs6lm$cib$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> I just encountered the following error, which appears
> consistently in a script of mine when trying to plot the
> last in a series of 7 figures:
>
>
> ??? Error using ==> figure
> UIJ_AreThereWindowShowsPending - timeout waiting for window
> to show up.
>
> Error in ==> plotecosimresults at 9
> figure('Units', 'normalized', 'Position', [.1 .1 .8 .8]);;
>
> Error in ==> test at 31
> plotecosimresults(Out, Ewein.name);
>
>
> I'm running R2007a on MacOS X on an Intel Mac. I found one
> other thread in the newsgroup mentioning the same error,
> also on an intel mac and with the same version of Matlab
> (unfortunately with no replies). Anyone know what might be
> causing this?

This may have nothing to do with memory allocation or other problems listed below. with 64 bit Matlab on Win7 I get the same thing on fresh reboot by simply using >figure.

Solution Workaround
>close force all

forces hung figure to close so you can proceed. Bug has been reported

Tags for this Thread

What are tags?

A tag is like a keyword or category label associated with each thread. Tags make it easier for you to find threads of interest.

Anyone can tag a thread. Tags are public and visible to everyone.

Contact us