Got Questions? Get Answers.
Discover MakerZone

MATLAB and Simulink resources for Arduino, LEGO, and Raspberry Pi

Learn more

Discover what MATLAB® can do for your career.

Opportunities for recent engineering grads.

Apply Today

Thread Subject:
How to access overridden function?

Subject: How to access overridden function?

From: Marty

Date: 22 Apr, 2009 10:51:01

Message: 1 of 4

Is there any way to access on overridden function in Matlab? I have installed the prTools toolbox, which has it's own definition of 'dataset'. There is another definition of 'dataset' in the statistics toolbox - how can I choose which of them I want to use at any particular moment (changing the order of toolboxes in my path is not a solution)?
Thanks

Subject: How to access overridden function?

From: John D'Errico

Date: 22 Apr, 2009 11:08:01

Message: 2 of 4

"Marty" <mb1234@gazeta.pl> wrote in message <gsmsql$994$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> Is there any way to access on overridden function in Matlab? I have installed the prTools toolbox, which has it's own definition of 'dataset'. There is another definition of 'dataset' in the statistics toolbox - how can I choose which of them I want to use at any particular moment (changing the order of toolboxes in my path is not a solution)?
> Thanks

Without changing your path, the only way is to move
(via cd) to the directory in question. The current
directory is always at the top of your search path.

John

Subject: How to access overridden function?

From: Marty

Date: 22 Apr, 2009 11:29:01

Message: 3 of 4

Well, I was thinking about it but there is another problem: when I have already created some objects of one type, and then I want to create an object of this other type, I get an error message:

Cannot redefine class 'dataset' without a call to 'clear classes'.

In other words I am not able to use both types at the same time.

"John D'Errico" <woodchips@rochester.rr.com> wrote in message <gsmtqh$f6k$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> "Marty" <mb1234@gazeta.pl> wrote in message <gsmsql$994$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> > Is there any way to access on overridden function in Matlab? I have installed the prTools toolbox, which has it's own definition of 'dataset'. There is another definition of 'dataset' in the statistics toolbox - how can I choose which of them I want to use at any particular moment (changing the order of toolboxes in my path is not a solution)?
> > Thanks
>
> Without changing your path, the only way is to move
> (via cd) to the directory in question. The current
> directory is always at the top of your search path.
>
> John

Subject: How to access overridden function?

From: Doug Schwarz

Date: 22 Apr, 2009 15:01:06

Message: 4 of 4

[top posting repaired]

In article <gsmv1t$7bl$1@fred.mathworks.com>,
 "Marty" <mb1234@gazeta.pl> wrote:

> "John D'Errico" <woodchips@rochester.rr.com> wrote in message
> <gsmtqh$f6k$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> > "Marty" <mb1234@gazeta.pl> wrote in message
> > <gsmsql$994$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> > > Is there any way to access on overridden function in Matlab? I have
> > > installed the prTools toolbox, which has it's own definition of
> > > 'dataset'. There is another definition of 'dataset' in the statistics
> > > toolbox - how can I choose which of them I want to use at any particular
> > > moment (changing the order of toolboxes in my path is not a solution)?
> > > Thanks
> >
> > Without changing your path, the only way is to move
> > (via cd) to the directory in question. The current
> > directory is always at the top of your search path.
> >
> > John
>
> Well, I was thinking about it but there is another problem: when I have
> already created some objects of one type, and then I want to create an object
> of this other type, I get an error message:
>
> Cannot redefine class 'dataset' without a call to 'clear classes'.
>
> In other words I am not able to use both types at the same time.


Could you put prTools in a package directory? I haven't done it and I'm
not familiar with prTools, but the general idea would be to put
everything that is part of prTools in a directory called, say,
'+prtools' which is itself in a directory on your path:

   <directory on path>/+prtools/<contents of prTools>

Then you could access the prTools dataset with

  prtools.dataset(...)

I gather from the documentation on packages that this won't work if
prTools has old-style classes (no classdef statement), but it's worth
looking into.

--
Doug Schwarz
dmschwarz&ieee,org
Make obvious changes to get real email address.

Tags for this Thread

What are tags?

A tag is like a keyword or category label associated with each thread. Tags make it easier for you to find threads of interest.

Anyone can tag a thread. Tags are public and visible to everyone.

Contact us