Discover MakerZone

MATLAB and Simulink resources for Arduino, LEGO, and Raspberry Pi

Learn more

Discover what MATLAB® can do for your career.

Opportunities for recent engineering grads.

Apply Today

Thread Subject:
simscape/simpower system

Subject: simscape/simpower system

From: joseph varghese

Date: 29 Nov, 2010 12:35:04

Message: 1 of 9

how to connect simscape with simpowersystem

Subject: simscape/simpower system

From: Arnaud_Miege

Date: 30 Nov, 2010 22:38:16

Message: 2 of 9



"joseph varghese" <josephvarghesee@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:id06lo$lqn$1@fred.mathworks.com...
> how to connect simscape with simpowersystem

Have a look at this thread:
http://www.mathworks.com/matlabcentral/newsreader/view_thread/269478

Depending on what you are trying to do, it may not be necessary though. You
might be able to do everything in Simscape or everything in SimPowerSystems,

HTH,

Arnaud

Subject: simscape/simpower system

From: joseph varghese

Date: 1 Dec, 2010 05:55:06

Message: 3 of 9

"Arnaud_Miege" <amiege@mathworks.com> wrote in message <id3ucp$6pb$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
>
>
> "joseph varghese" <josephvarghesee@gmail.com> wrote in message
> news:id06lo$lqn$1@fred.mathworks.com...
> > how to connect simscape with simpowersystem
>
> Have a look at this thread:
> http://www.mathworks.com/matlabcentral/newsreader/view_thread/269478
>
> Depending on what you are trying to do, it may not be necessary though. You
> might be able to do everything in Simscape or everything in SimPowerSystems,
>
> HTH,
>
> Arnaud


i want to connect a solar cell which is in simscape with simpowersystems
pls help me in this
thank you

Subject: simscape/simpower system

From: ths1104 Stenkhiste

Date: 1 Dec, 2010 08:28:04

Message: 4 of 9

First, interface the simscape block with simulink signal using converter (simscape>utilities>converter).

Then, interface the simpowersystem block with simulink signal using converter (simpowersys>electrical source or measurements).

Then connect the resulting blocks together using common simulink blocks.

Subject: simscape/simpower system

From: Arnaud Miege

Date: 3 Dec, 2010 15:46:05

Message: 5 of 9

"joseph varghese" <josephvarghesee@gmail.com> wrote in message <id4nvp$hfq$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> "Arnaud_Miege" <amiege@mathworks.com> wrote in message <id3ucp$6pb$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> >
> >
> > "joseph varghese" <josephvarghesee@gmail.com> wrote in message
> > news:id06lo$lqn$1@fred.mathworks.com...
> > > how to connect simscape with simpowersystem
> >
> > Have a look at this thread:
> > http://www.mathworks.com/matlabcentral/newsreader/view_thread/269478
> >
> > Depending on what you are trying to do, it may not be necessary though. You
> > might be able to do everything in Simscape or everything in SimPowerSystems,
> >
> > HTH,
> >
> > Arnaud
>
>
> i want to connect a solar cell which is in simscape with simpowersystems
> pls help me in this
> thank you

What type of components in SimPowerSystems do you want to connect to the solar cell (presumably from SimElectronics)?

If you really have to use both tools, in the thread I referred you to, you'll find the following (I quote):

"In SimPowerSystems, measure the voltage (in parallel) with a voltage measurement block, which outputs a Simulink signal. Feed this signal into a S-PS block to convert it to a physical signal and inject this to a controlled voltaged source in Simscape.

On the Simscape side, measure the current (in series) with a current sensor block, which outputs a physical signal. Feed this signal to a PS-S block to convert it to a Simulink signal, and inject this to a controlled current source in SimPowerSystems.

Note that this introduces an algebraic loop in the model, which may cause numerical problems. Note also that you can't have two current sources in series, so you may need to insert a small resistor to make it work, depending on how the rest of your model is structured."

HTH,

Arnaud

Subject: simscape/simpower system

From: joseph varghese

Date: 6 Dec, 2010 04:20:08

Message: 6 of 9

"Arnaud Miege" <arnaud.miege@nospam.mathworks.co.uk> wrote in message <idb3bt$hpi$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> "joseph varghese" <josephvarghesee@gmail.com> wrote in message <id4nvp$hfq$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> > "Arnaud_Miege" <amiege@mathworks.com> wrote in message <id3ucp$6pb$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> > >
> > >
> > > "joseph varghese" <josephvarghesee@gmail.com> wrote in message
> > > news:id06lo$lqn$1@fred.mathworks.com...
> > > > how to connect simscape with simpowersystem
> > >
> > > Have a look at this thread:
> > > http://www.mathworks.com/matlabcentral/newsreader/view_thread/269478
> > >
> > > Depending on what you are trying to do, it may not be necessary though. You
> > > might be able to do everything in Simscape or everything in SimPowerSystems,
> > >
> > > HTH,
> > >
> > > Arnaud
> >
> >
> > i want to connect a solar cell which is in simscape with simpowersystems
> > pls help me in this
> > thank you
>
> What type of components in SimPowerSystems do you want to connect to the solar cell (presumably from SimElectronics)?
>
> If you really have to use both tools, in the thread I referred you to, you'll find the following (I quote):
>
> "In SimPowerSystems, measure the voltage (in parallel) with a voltage measurement block, which outputs a Simulink signal. Feed this signal into a S-PS block to convert it to a physical signal and inject this to a controlled voltaged source in Simscape.
>
> On the Simscape side, measure the current (in series) with a current sensor block, which outputs a physical signal. Feed this signal to a PS-S block to convert it to a Simulink signal, and inject this to a controlled current source in SimPowerSystems.
>
> Note that this introduces an algebraic loop in the model, which may cause numerical problems. Note also that you can't have two current sources in series, so you may need to insert a small resistor to make it work, depending on how the rest of your model is structured."
>
> HTH,
>
> Arnaud


thank you , i tried connecting controlled current source but the output current from the solar panel is becoming a constant value to the simpowersystem,my current in solar panel is not changing with my change in load

Subject: simscape/simpower system

From: Arnaud Miege

Date: 8 Dec, 2010 14:27:05

Message: 7 of 9

"joseph varghese" <josephvarghesee@gmail.com> wrote in message <idho9o$sun$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> thank you , i tried connecting controlled current source but the output current from the solar panel is becoming a constant value to the simpowersystem,my current in solar panel is not changing with my change in load

Without looking at the model, it's difficult to say what's wrong. I suggest you contact technical support:
http://www.mathworks.com/support/contact_us/index.html

HTH,

Arnaud

Subject: simscape/simpower system

From: joseph varghese

Date: 14 Jan, 2011 12:39:05

Message: 8 of 9

"Arnaud Miege" wrote in message <ido4jp$1k6$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> "joseph varghese" <josephvarghesee@gmail.com> wrote in message <idho9o$sun$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> > thank you , i tried connecting controlled current source but the output current from the solar panel is becoming a constant value to the simpowersystem,my current in solar panel is not changing with my change in load
>
> Without looking at the model, it's difficult to say what's wrong. I suggest you contact technical support:
> http://www.mathworks.com/support/contact_us/index.html
>
> HTH,
>
> Arnaud

i uploaded my solar panel simulation in mathworks file exchange pls see and give me some ideas

Subject: simscape/simpower system

From: Arnaud Miege

Date: 17 Jan, 2011 14:09:04

Message: 9 of 9

"joseph varghese" <josephvarghesee@gmail.com> wrote in message <igpg59$jbr$1@fred.mathworks.com>...
> i uploaded my solar panel simulation in mathworks file exchange pls see and give me some ideas

Please don't use the file exchange to upload your models for troubleshooting, use technical support as I suggested, that's what they're here for. In addition, I can't find your submission anywhere on the file exchange.

Arnaud

Tags for this Thread

What are tags?

A tag is like a keyword or category label associated with each thread. Tags make it easier for you to find threads of interest.

Anyone can tag a thread. Tags are public and visible to everyone.

Contact us