Discover MakerZone

MATLAB and Simulink resources for Arduino, LEGO, and Raspberry Pi

Learn more

Discover what MATLAB® can do for your career.

Opportunities for recent engineering grads.

Apply Today

Thread Subject:
How do you eliminate the TITLE BAR from a GUI?

Subject: How do you eliminate the TITLE BAR from a GUI?

From: Stefanie

Date: 15 Feb, 2012 21:10:26

Message: 1 of 13

I have already created a GUI using GUIDE. I need to eliminate or hide the TITLE BAR of the entire figure (not the menu bar). I do not want to simply disable the exit and minimize buttons, but hide it / elminate it all together.
 Is there anyway to do this?

Thank you!

Subject: How do you eliminate the TITLE BAR from a GUI?

From: matt dash

Date: 16 Feb, 2012 04:08:12

Message: 2 of 13

"Stefanie" wrote in message <jhh701$m8s$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> I have already created a GUI using GUIDE. I need to eliminate or hide the TITLE BAR of the entire figure (not the menu bar). I do not want to simply disable the exit and minimize buttons, but hide it / elminate it all together.
> Is there anyway to do this?
>
> Thank you!

It's likely impossible (or at least exceedingly difficult). The matlab figure is based on a java frame, and I think you can only hide a jframe titlebar while you're creating it... so since matlab does the figure creation, you can't do anything about it. I'm not sure if it would be possible to make a new jframe without a title bar and have matlab display your gui in it and treat it like a normal figure (seems like a long shot).

Incidentally, why do you want to hide it?

Subject: How do you eliminate the TITLE BAR from a GUI?

From: Stefanie

Date: 16 Feb, 2012 22:14:11

Message: 3 of 13

Thanks for the response.

This particular GUI is being called up from another GUI...therefore I don't want it to display as if it's a separate figure with it's own titlebar. But so far, as you mentioned, it seems to be impossible.



"matt dash" wrote in message <jhhvfb$78m$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> "Stefanie" wrote in message <jhh701$m8s$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> > I have already created a GUI using GUIDE. I need to eliminate or hide the TITLE BAR of the entire figure (not the menu bar). I do not want to simply disable the exit and minimize buttons, but hide it / elminate it all together.
> > Is there anyway to do this?
> >
> > Thank you!
>
> It's likely impossible (or at least exceedingly difficult). The matlab figure is based on a java frame, and I think you can only hide a jframe titlebar while you're creating it... so since matlab does the figure creation, you can't do anything about it. I'm not sure if it would be possible to make a new jframe without a title bar and have matlab display your gui in it and treat it like a normal figure (seems like a long shot).
>
> Incidentally, why do you want to hide it?

Subject: How do you eliminate the TITLE BAR from a GUI?

From: matt dash

Date: 17 Feb, 2012 16:29:24

Message: 4 of 13

"Stefanie" wrote in message <jhjv3j$3s8$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> Thanks for the response.
>
> This particular GUI is being called up from another GUI...therefore I don't want it to display as if it's a separate figure with it's own titlebar. But so far, as you mentioned, it seems to be impossible.

If the initial gui fills the screen, or at least the portion behind the popup gui, you can make the popup as a uipanel that just appears in the main gui figure. The problem is that any uicontrols behind it would still appear in front of the uipanel, so you'd need to make them invisible when the panel is present. (There might be a clever way to overlay the uicontrols with the uipanel, but i dont know what it is) The panel also wouldn't have the normal window border, but if you really wanted to you could recreate that with images.

See the discussion here about copying a gui from a figure to a uipanel:
http://www.mathworks.com/matlabcentral/newsreader/view_thread/316053#864698

Subject: How do you eliminate the TITLE BAR from a GUI?

From: Stefanie

Date: 22 Feb, 2012 14:56:12

Message: 5 of 13

Thank you for the response. What if my main GUI was created using C#? This main GUI is what needs to call up my sub-GUI that I created in Matlab (I needed the image processing toolbox). However, as mentioned before, I don't want my sub-GUI to have its own titlebar, but rather just display as a borderless window when called upon by the main C# Gui.


"matt dash" wrote in message <jhlv94$hk7$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> "Stefanie" wrote in message <jhjv3j$3s8$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> > Thanks for the response.
> >
> > This particular GUI is being called up from another GUI...therefore I don't want it to display as if it's a separate figure with it's own titlebar. But so far, as you mentioned, it seems to be impossible.
>
> If the initial gui fills the screen, or at least the portion behind the popup gui, you can make the popup as a uipanel that just appears in the main gui figure. The problem is that any uicontrols behind it would still appear in front of the uipanel, so you'd need to make them invisible when the panel is present. (There might be a clever way to overlay the uicontrols with the uipanel, but i dont know what it is) The panel also wouldn't have the normal window border, but if you really wanted to you could recreate that with images.
>
> See the discussion here about copying a gui from a figure to a uipanel:
> http://www.mathworks.com/matlabcentral/newsreader/view_thread/316053#864698

Subject: How do you eliminate the TITLE BAR from a GUI?

From: matt dash

Date: 23 Feb, 2012 04:53:14

Message: 6 of 13

"Stefanie" wrote in message <ji2vmc$ibs$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> Thank you for the response. What if my main GUI was created using C#? This main GUI is what needs to call up my sub-GUI that I created in Matlab (I needed the image processing toolbox). However, as mentioned before, I don't want my sub-GUI to have its own titlebar, but rather just display as a borderless window when called upon by the main C# Gui.

I just ran across this: http://www.mathworks.com/matlabcentral/fileexchange/31437-windowapi

Assuming you're using Windows, Maybe you can use the clip option to hide the titlebar. I havent tried it though...

Subject: How do you eliminate the TITLE BAR from a GUI?

From: Stefanie

Date: 24 Feb, 2012 17:07:35

Message: 7 of 13

"matt dash" wrote in message <ji4gnq$rcu$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> "Stefanie" wrote in message <ji2vmc$ibs$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> > Thank you for the response. What if my main GUI was created using C#? This main GUI is what needs to call up my sub-GUI that I created in Matlab (I needed the image processing toolbox). However, as mentioned before, I don't want my sub-GUI to have its own titlebar, but rather just display as a borderless window when called upon by the main C# Gui.
>
> I just ran across this: http://www.mathworks.com/matlabcentral/fileexchange/31437-windowapi
>
> Assuming you're using Windows, Maybe you can use the clip option to hide the titlebar. I havent tried it though...


Thank you for the link!! I quickly tried the following in the Opening Function of my GUI which did not work:

handles.output = hObject;
guipos = get(hObject,'Position')
WindowAPI(hObject,'Position',guipos);
WindowAPI(hObject,'Clip');

I get the following error:
??? Error using ==> WindowAPI
*** WindowAPI[mex]: Cannot get HWND for figure handle.
Error in ==> bordertest>bordertest_OpeningFcn at 60
WindowAPI(hObject,'Position',realfigpos);

Trying to figure out how to adapt this to a GUI. Still working on it...

Subject: How do you eliminate the TITLE BAR from a GUI?

From: Yair Altman

Date: 25 Feb, 2012 16:49:11

Message: 8 of 13

"Stefanie" wrote in message <ji8g4n$5u4$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> "matt dash" wrote in message <ji4gnq$rcu$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> > "Stefanie" wrote in message <ji2vmc$ibs$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> > > Thank you for the response. What if my main GUI was created using C#? This main GUI is what needs to call up my sub-GUI that I created in Matlab (I needed the image processing toolbox). However, as mentioned before, I don't want my sub-GUI to have its own titlebar, but rather just display as a borderless window when called upon by the main C# Gui.
> >
> > I just ran across this: http://www.mathworks.com/matlabcentral/fileexchange/31437-windowapi
> >
> > Assuming you're using Windows, Maybe you can use the clip option to hide the titlebar. I havent tried it though...
>
>
> Thank you for the link!! I quickly tried the following in the Opening Function of my GUI which did not work:
>
> handles.output = hObject;
> guipos = get(hObject,'Position')
> WindowAPI(hObject,'Position',guipos);
> WindowAPI(hObject,'Clip');
>
> I get the following error:
> ??? Error using ==> WindowAPI
> *** WindowAPI[mex]: Cannot get HWND for figure handle.
> Error in ==> bordertest>bordertest_OpeningFcn at 60
> WindowAPI(hObject,'Position',realfigpos);
>
> Trying to figure out how to adapt this to a GUI. Still working on it...


The Java Frame (and its accompanying HWND) is not yet created in *_OpeningFcn - try to use *_OutputFcn instead.

Yair Altman
http://UndocumentedMatlab.com
Read my matlab-Java Programming book

Subject: How do you eliminate the TITLE BAR from a GUI?

From: Stefanie

Date: 29 Feb, 2012 22:28:12

Message: 9 of 13

"Yair Altman" wrote in message <jib3e7$d85$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> "Stefanie" wrote in message <ji8g4n$5u4$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> > "matt dash" wrote in message <ji4gnq$rcu$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> > > "Stefanie" wrote in message <ji2vmc$ibs$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> > > > Thank you for the response. What if my main GUI was created using C#? This main GUI is what needs to call up my sub-GUI that I created in Matlab (I needed the image processing toolbox). However, as mentioned before, I don't want my sub-GUI to have its own titlebar, but rather just display as a borderless window when called upon by the main C# Gui.
> > >
> > > I just ran across this: http://www.mathworks.com/matlabcentral/fileexchange/31437-windowapi
> > >
> > > Assuming you're using Windows, Maybe you can use the clip option to hide the titlebar. I havent tried it though...
> >
> >
> > Thank you for the link!! I quickly tried the following in the Opening Function of my GUI which did not work:
> >
> > handles.output = hObject;
> > guipos = get(hObject,'Position')
> > WindowAPI(hObject,'Position',guipos);
> > WindowAPI(hObject,'Clip');
> >
> > I get the following error:
> > ??? Error using ==> WindowAPI
> > *** WindowAPI[mex]: Cannot get HWND for figure handle.
> > Error in ==> bordertest>bordertest_OpeningFcn at 60
> > WindowAPI(hObject,'Position',realfigpos);
> >
> > Trying to figure out how to adapt this to a GUI. Still working on it...
>
>
> The Java Frame (and its accompanying HWND) is not yet created in *_OpeningFcn - try to use *_OutputFcn instead.
>
> Yair Altman
> http://UndocumentedMatlab.com
> Read my matlab-Java Programming book


Great! Thank you! Putting it in the OutputFcn works! I was able to get what I need, provided my units are in "characters". I need them to be "normalized" so it displays properly on different monitors with different screen resolutions, but that is something I can work on.
This definitely helped! Thank you all for helping out!

Subject: How do you eliminate the TITLE BAR from a GUI?

From: Songpo

Date: 15 Apr, 2012 23:04:10

Message: 10 of 13

Hello, I am having the same problem now.
I would like to display the video from one camera full screen. I wanna to eliminate the title bar, tool bar, menu bar. Now it seems that I need to build a new GUI to complete it.
Could you please go over how you made it in as detail as possible?

Thanks in advance.

Subject: How do you eliminate the TITLE BAR from a GUI?

From: Jan Simon

Date: 16 Apr, 2012 07:39:09

Message: 11 of 13

Dear Songpo,

> Could you please go over how you made it in as detail as possible?

Sorry, it is an extremely hard job to post as much details as possible. Should I start at buying a computer or is the operating system and Matlab installed already? Do you use GUIDE or create the GUI programmatically? Are you able to display the graphics already and only the appearance should be modified?
It is easier, if you post more details at first and ask a specific question.

Kind regards, Jan

Subject: How do you eliminate the TITLE BAR from a GUI?

From: witek@mathworks.com

Date: 16 Apr, 2012 12:31:16

Message: 12 of 13

Hi,

vision.DeployableVideoPlayer of Computer Vision System Toolbox has a "full screen" mode for displaying videos.
Note that this object is Windows only. You can find the documentation for it here:

http://www.mathworks.com/help/toolbox/vision/ref/vision.deployablevideoplayerclass.html

HTH,

Witek


Songpo <411764312@qq.com> wrote:
> Hello, I am having the same problem now.
> I would like to display the video from one camera full screen. I wanna to eliminate the title bar, tool bar, menu bar. Now it seems that I need to build a new GUI to complete it.
> Could you please go over how you made it in as detail as possible?
>
> Thanks in advance.

Subject: How do you eliminate the TITLE BAR from a GUI?

From: Songpo

Date: 16 Apr, 2012 12:52:07

Message: 13 of 13

Sorry for sweeping description.
I use GUIDE to creat my GUI. As I expect full screen displaying video, I make the 'Position' of Axes component as large as possible. And the 'OuterPosition' of this Axes located at [-xx, -xx, xx,xx]. I eliminate the Menu Bar and Tool Bar but cannot make the title bar eliminated.

I saw you did something in the Output function, could you explain that part for me?
Any other comments about the full screen display are appreciated too.

Tags for this Thread

What are tags?

A tag is like a keyword or category label associated with each thread. Tags make it easier for you to find threads of interest.

Anyone can tag a thread. Tags are public and visible to everyone.

Contact us