Discover MakerZone

MATLAB and Simulink resources for Arduino, LEGO, and Raspberry Pi

Learn more

Discover what MATLAB® can do for your career.

Opportunities for recent engineering grads.

Apply Today

Thread Subject:
capturescreen broken?

Subject: capturescreen broken?

From: Petr Krysl

Date: 29 Aug, 2012 01:59:08

Message: 1 of 7

The built-in capturescreen in the line 103 of getframe ()

x=builtin('capturescreen', varargin{:});

is not working correctly. The image captured does not reflect what's shown in the figure.

Obtained with the 2012 Matlab student version, Windows 7 64-bit (the Matlab is 32-bit).

Has anyone seen a bug like this?

Thanks,

Petr

Subject: capturescreen broken?

From: Jan Simon

Date: 30 Aug, 2012 12:59:08

Message: 2 of 7

Dear Petr Krysl,

> is not working correctly. The image captured does not reflect what's shown in the figure.

Please explain, what your are geting instead.
GETFRAME fails randomly, when the Java uicontrols are not updated, such that a PAUSE(0.02) can help, while a DRAWNOW does not.

Kind regards, Jan

Subject: capturescreen broken?

From: Petr Krysl

Date: 30 Aug, 2012 14:59:08

Message: 3 of 7

"Jan Simon" wrote in message <k1no2r$cdi$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> Dear Petr Krysl,
>
> > is not working correctly. The image captured does not reflect what's shown in the figure.
>
> Please explain, what your are geting instead.
> GETFRAME fails randomly, when the Java uicontrols are not updated, such that a PAUSE(0.02) can help, while a DRAWNOW does not.
>

The captured image shows just the plain-vanilla 2-D axes instead of the three-dimensional graphics that the figure is showing at the time to capture is being taken. The function pause () was called after the graphics was drawn into the figure and before the capture of the screen was attempted.

Thanks,

Petr

Subject: capturescreen broken?

From: Bruno Luong

Date: 30 Aug, 2012 15:08:05

Message: 4 of 7

If you use Windows platform later than XP, you might try to disable the aero mode.

Bruno

Subject: capturescreen broken?

From: Petr Krysl

Date: 30 Aug, 2012 16:29:08

Message: 5 of 7

"Bruno Luong" <b.luong@fogale.findmycountry> wrote in message <k1nvkl$ddg$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> If you use Windows platform later than XP, you might try to disable the aero mode.

Thanks. That is a possible workaround. However, the same code in version 2011a,b and 2012a,b works just fine in the regular license 64-bit under Windows 7. I'd like to know what's going on since my students will be using this version on their laptops and I can't ask everybody to change their preferences all the time.

Petr

Subject: capturescreen broken?

From: Yair Altman

Date: 30 Aug, 2012 17:09:08

Message: 6 of 7

"Petr Krysl" wrote in message <k1nv3s$b9r$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> "Jan Simon" wrote in message <k1no2r$cdi$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> > Dear Petr Krysl,
> >
> > > is not working correctly. The image captured does not reflect what's shown in the figure.
> >
> > Please explain, what your are geting instead.
> > GETFRAME fails randomly, when the Java uicontrols are not updated, such that a PAUSE(0.02) can help, while a DRAWNOW does not.
> >
>
> The captured image shows just the plain-vanilla 2-D axes instead of the three-dimensional graphics that the figure is showing at the time to capture is being taken. The function pause () was called after the graphics was drawn into the figure and before the capture of the screen was attempted.
>
> Thanks,
>
> Petr


Try increasing the pause value just before attempting the capture. See http://www.mathworks.com/matlabcentral/answers/7309
Also check out http://undocumentedmatlab.com/blog/screencapture-utility/

Yair Altman
http://UndocumentedMatlab.com
 

Subject: capturescreen broken?

From: Petr Krysl

Date: 30 Aug, 2012 17:48:08

Message: 7 of 7

"Yair Altman" wrote in message <k1o6nk$au0$1@newscl01ah.mathworks.com>...
> Try increasing the pause value just before attempting the capture. See http://www.mathworks.com/matlabcentral/answers/7309
> Also check out http://undocumentedmatlab.com/blog/screencapture-utility/


I have used pause (0.05) and pause( 0.5) without any change.

Petr

Tags for this Thread

What are tags?

A tag is like a keyword or category label associated with each thread. Tags make it easier for you to find threads of interest.

Anyone can tag a thread. Tags are public and visible to everyone.

Contact us