Share and Restore Files in MATLAB Online

Share Folders in MATLAB Online

MATLAB Online provides access to MATLAB® from a standard web browser. In MATLAB Online™, you can share folders with others who have access to MATLAB Online.

You can choose to share a folder with select participants with view-only or can-edit permission, or you can create a link providing view-only permission to anyone with access to the link. You can use both methods for the same folder. This table shows how to share a folder:

ActionProcedure
Share Folder by Invitation

For a folder that you have not shared by invitation before, right-click the folder and select Share > Invite Members. For a folder that has been shared by invitation before, right-click the folder and select Share > Manage Members. You can select to share with view-only or can-edit permission for each person individually.

To enter several addresses at one time, use a semi-colon or comma separator. You can only do this if they all have the same access level.

People you invite to a shared folder in this way will receive an email invitation. They must accept the invitation to have access to the shared folder. When inviting select participants, you can make changes to members at any time after the initial invite.

Share Folder With View-Only Link

For a folder that you have not shared by link before, right-click the folder and select Share > Create Link. For a folder that has been shared by link before, right-click the folder and select Share > Manage Link. Click Copy Link to copy the link to the clipboard.

Revoke Invited Shares

You can rescind invitations to a shared folder when you no longer want the content to be shared. To rescind an invitation, right-click the shared folder and select Share > Manage Members. Click the X next to each member name to delete shared access.

Changing the access of invited members does not change access for people who joined using a shared link.

Remove Shared Link

To remove access to shared folder from a view-only link, right-click the folder and select Share > Manage Link. Then, Click Delete Link.

People who joined using the link will no longer have access to the shared folder, and anyone who then clicks the link gets an error. Deleting the link does not cause any change in access by members who received personal invitations.

Access Folders Shared with You

When you are personally invited to a shared folder, you will receive an email invitation. After you accept the invitation, you can view the shared folder in the Current Folder browser.

When you are provided with a link to a shared folder, click the link and an invitation shows up in MATLAB Drive™ online. When you accept the invitation, the shared folder appears in the Current Folder browser.

Restore Previous Versions of Files in MATLAB Online

Each time you save a program file, MATLAB stores the contents of your program in the version history. To recover a previous version of a file, select the File Versions tab.

The file version history appears, as shown in the following figure.

Browse for the file you want by selecting from the list, or by clicking Older or Newer. When you find the file, click Restore as Latest. MATLAB adds the restored file to the top of your history with a new timestamp and version number.