Set option to move deleted files to recycle folder
status = recycle returns the current state
for recycling files you remove using the
permanently removes the files. When
deleted files move to a different location. For details, see the Tips section.
Start from a state where file recycling is off. Verify the current recycle state.
state = recycle
state = off
Turn file recycling on. Then, delete an existing file and move it to the recycle bin or temporary folder.
The location for storing recycled files varies by platform, as follows:
Microsoft® Windows® systems — Recycle bin.
Apple Macintosh systems — Trash.
Linux® systems — Subfolder with the prefix
the system temporary folder, as returned by the
The general preference for Deleting files sets
the state of the
recycle function at startup.
When you change the preference, it changes the state of
However, when you change the state of
it does not change the preference.