Share content and collaborate with others using MATLAB® Drive™ online. Some key features:
You manage sharing by right-clicking a folder on MATLAB Drive or in MATLAB Online™ and selecting Share.
Folders can be shared by inviting others to join a folder. Accepting an invitation is done through MATLAB Drive online and requires a MathWorks® Account. You cannot accept or decline invitations through MATLAB Online.
MATLAB Drive online and MATLAB Online display a unique indicator for shared folders.
The owner of (or person creating) a shared folder can set the access level so that members can either edit files within the folder ('Can Edit') or view the contents only ('Can View'). The owner can set the access level for each member individually when inviting members by personal invitation.
When you accept a shared folder invitation, the folder appears in your MATLAB Drive and contents sync as changes are made - by any member - to remain up-to-date.
You can decline invitations or leave shared folders at any time after accepting an invitation.
MATLAB Drive Connector syncs the contents of shared folders to your local drive and makes them appropriately 'Can View' or 'Can Edit', depending on what access you were given.
You must have a MathWorks Account to issue invitations. The number of invitations you can send depends on whether you have an eligible MATLAB license that is current on Software Maintenance Service. Customers that do not have an eligible license are allowed fewer invitations.
If you have an eligible MATLAB license, you can send up to 1,000 'Can View' personal invitations and 100 'Can Edit' personal invitations per folder.
If you do not have an eligible MATLAB license, you can send up to 10 'Can View' personal invitations and 10 'Can Edit' personal invitations per folder.
After you have reached your limit for sent invitations for either 'Can View' or 'Can Edit' for a particular folder, you cannot invite others to share that folder with that same access type.
If the limit is reached for 'Can View' invitations for a particular folder, you cannot create a 'Can View' link nor can you invite others with 'Can View' access to that folder.
Anyone trying to access - via a public 'Can View' link - a shared folder that is already shared to the maximum will not be able to access that folder. If another member leaves the shared folder or declines an invitation to the share, then additional members can acess the folder.
You can have up to 100 shared folders. This total includes both folders shared by you (regardless of whether anyone has accepted any invitations) and folders shared with you (excluding those you haven't accepted). Sub-folders to a shared folder are not included in this limit.
You are allowed to have any number of pending invitations sent to you, but if you already have 100 shared folders, you cannot accept another invite, nor can you create a new shared folder.
When you accept a shared folder, the total content of that shared folder is included as part of your total storage allotment, regardless of whether your access to that shared content is 'Can View' or 'Can Edit'. Any time someone adds content to that shared folder, the storage is again updated.
If you exceed your storage quota:
Others with 'Can Edit' permission can add content to your shared folders, but you cannot.
You cannot accept any pending invitations to a shared folder or create any new invitations or shared links.
For more about storage quotas, see Storage Quota.
To share a folder, go to MATLAB Drive online or MATLAB Online, right-click on the folder you want to share, and then click Share from the context menu. You can choose to share a folder with select participants and give 'Can View' or 'Can Edit' permission, or you can create a link providing 'Can View' permission to anyone with access to the link. You can use both methods with the same folder.
For a folder that you have not shared by invitation before, right-click the folder and select Share > Invite Members.
For a folder that has been shared by invitation before, right-click the folder and select Share > Manage Members.
Enter the email addresses of the people you want to share this folder with. You can select to share with 'Can View' or 'Can Edit' permission for each person individually.
You can enter several addresses at one time using a semi-colon or comma separator – you can only do this if they all have the same access level – or you can enter one address at a time.
When you have completed inviting people to the folder, click Close.
In the following example, the shared folder name is "Class Folder" and it will be shared with two people, one who can edit folder contents and the other who is restricted to only view the folder contents.
People you invite to a shared folder in this way will receive an email invitation. They must accept the invitation to have access to the shared folder.
When inviting select participants, you can make changes to members at any time after the initial invite.
For a folder that you have not shared by link before, right-click the folder and select Share > Create Link.
For a folder that has been shared by link before, right-click the folder and select Share > Manage Link.
Click Copy Link to copy the link to the clipboard.
After you copy the link, click Close.
Make this link available to others; for example, by including it in an email.
You can rescind invitations to a shared folder when you no longer want the content to be shared.
Right-click the shared folder and select Share > Manage Members.
Next to each member name, click X to delete shared access.
When you are finished, click Close.
Changing the access of invited members does not change access for people who joined using a shared link.
To remove access to a shared folder from a view-only link:
Right-click the shared folder and select Share > Manage Link.
Click Delete Link.
Confirm that you want to delete the shared link by clicking Delete.
When you have finished, click Close.
People who joined using the link will no longer have access to the shared folder, and anyone who then clicks the link gets an error. Deleting the link does not cause any change in access for members who received personal invitations.
When you are personally invited to a shared folder, you will receive an email invitation, similar to the following:
At the same time, you will see a pending invitation in MATLAB Drive online.
You can accept the invite through the email or by going directly to MATLAB Drive online. After you accept the invite, you can view the shared folder in your MATLAB Drive.
When you are provided with a link to a shared folder, click the link to see the invitation on MATLAB Drive online.
When you accept the invitation, the shared folder appears in your Files.
If you have been given 'Can Edit' access to the contents of a shared folder, you can edit the contents of the files within that folder.
Note that it is possible other participants with edit access are also editing the same files as you are. However, the most recently saved copy overwrites any other saved copies.
You can move or rename shared folders in your MATLAB Drive, but they are moved or renamed only for you. Anyone else with access to the shared folder does not see these folder changes. This is true even for the shared folder owner.
You can move shared folders regardless of whether you have 'Can View' or 'Can Edit' access.
You can move a shared folder into a non-shared folder. You can also move a non-shared folder into a shared folder.
However, MATLAB Drive does not allow moving a shared folder into any sub-directory location of a different shared folder.
If you try, MATLAB Drive makes a copy of the moved shared folder in the target shared folder, with the moved folder adopting the same permission as the target folder. The original shared folder is then deleted (you can find it in your Deleted Files). You can restore the deleted shared folder and it will return to its original state.
You can delete a top-level shared folder, but the shared folder is deleted only for you. Anyone else with access to the shared folder does not have the shared folder deleted on their MATLAB Drive. If you have 'Can Edit' access, you can delete content inside a shared folder and that content is moved to Deleted Files for all members with 'Can Edit' access. Members with 'Can View' access do not see shared folder contents in their Deleted Files.
Permanently Delete behavior is the same as it is for any folder, except that:
You cannot permanently delete the contents (files and subfolders) of a shared folder.
When you permanently delete a top-level shared folder, the invitation is also deleted (if you were not the owner).
These actions do not affect the shared folder of any other members.
You can forward 'Can View' links to others, no matter how you gained access to the link, but you cannot forward personal invitations to shared folders - they work only for the named participant.