When creating a cluster, you can select either Personal Cluster or Shareable Cluster for the cluster Shared State. The Shared State default value is Personal Cluster.
After you create a cluster as a personal cluster or shareable cluster, you cannot change the cluster’s Shared State.
A Personal Cluster is a cluster that only you have access to. If that cluster is also a dedicated headnode, the cluster can access files on your MATLAB® Drive™ (read-only). A personal cluster Shared State also selects Auto-Manage Cluster Access by default.
If you create a personal cluster, only you can submit jobs to or interact with the cluster from MATLAB, even if another person has a copy of the cluster profile.
If your personal cluster is also a dedicated headnode cluster, your MATLAB
Drive files are available to the cluster’s workers in the
Drive file system path. The files available onMATLAB
Drive are read-only. You can access a read/write version of your MATLAB
Drive files on the cluster’s headnode through SSH access with your root access key
ubuntu), switching to the
sudo su -l gdsd), and using the
file system path.
When you create a Cloud Center cluster, you can enable/disable Auto-Manage Cluster Access. When you select Personal Cluster, Cloud Center also selects Auto-Manage Cluster Access automatically. You can disable this feature before you create your cluster or at any time after you create your cluster.
A Shareable Cluster is a cluster that you, the cluster owner, can share with others by giving them explicit access using a white list and the cluster profile (downloaded from Cloud Center’s Cluster Details page or exported from MATLAB). Anyone who has both explicit permission and the cluster profile can import the cluster profile into MATLAB, allowing them to submit jobs to or interact with the cluster from MATLAB. They can also re-share the cluster profile. Any user who imports a cluster profile can discover the cluster, but does not actually have authorization to access the cluster if they are not on the white list.
When you create a cluster with a Shared State of shareable cluster, you must also supply a list of other users authorized to submit jobs to or interact with the cluster from MATLAB. The Shared With white list is a comma-separated list of email addresses and/or email domains that are authorized to access the cluster. Although the Shared With field defaults to the cluster owner’s email domain, the cluster owner may remove their own authorization to submit jobs to or interact with the cluster from MATLAB. Even if the cluster owner is not a member of the Shared With white list, the cluster owner still can access the cluster via SSH.
You can edit the Shared With field at any time to add or remove authorization. Users who are not on the Shared With white list are not able to create a new connection to the cluster.
Expanding authorization while the cluster is running takes effect immediately and newly authorized users can run parcluster.
Removing authorization while the cluster is running does not prevent a user who was previously authorized from accessing the cluster over an active or existing connection (for example, someone who has run parcluster against the cluster profile and has not exited MATLAB). Stop and the restart the cluster after removing authorization to ensure that all active connections are closed.
When you create a Cloud Center cluster, you can enable/disable Auto-Manage Cluster Access. When you select Shareable Cluster, Cloud Center aslo unselects Auto-Manage Cluster Access. You can enable this access before you create your cluster or at any time after you create your cluster.