General
Follow

Paulo Silva

How long have you been using matlab? tell us your story

Paulo Silva on 23 Feb 2011
Latest activity Reply by Chaya N on 22 Oct 2016

Don't be shy, what was your matlab learning curve, how many years or months, what were the difficulties to begin with.
I think that the answers would be most valuable for new users, maybe you can also tell us the tricks that allowed you to master some parts or all matlab.
Now it's your turn...
Chaya N
Chaya N on 22 Oct 2016
I started using MATLAB in 2001 when I was in my 10th grade (It was version 6.0 then!). Initially, it was just to gain some extra programming skills so I could get into a good college (and possibly grub for extra points/grades from the teacher!) but I have been using it regularly since I got into college (in 2003). Having had a couple years of 'fun' practice, I actually had an edge over my classmates. Today I am a qualified engineer (thrice over!!!) and of all the programming languages I have learned and used, I still find it easiest to work with MATLAB. I've often had it pointed out to me that this is the only editing software I use (for photos, audios, videos or you name it!). It is my programming language of choice and I like teaching it (my youngest student was 9 years old) as much as I love using it. This is my way of paying forward!
Image Analyst
Image Analyst on 2 Aug 2016
Nice story. Speaking from personal experience, the University of Arizona is tops in the world when it comes to astronomy and optics.
James Brown
James Brown on 1 Aug 2016